A New Design-

Posted: 11/11/2013 in Updates

Well I’d say today was extremely productive. I’ve spent most of the day updating profiles. Namely my LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Flickr, and Instagram. Now that all of these are updated I can focus on more pressing homework tomorrow. I focused today on updating every major profile I have. Once Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Flickr, and Instagram had been updated, I started focusing on my actual blogs. Tumblr, and WordPress.

First I focused on WordPress. My layout was plain and outdated. It was the layout called Motion. Picture attached below. *Note: This is just the basic layout without customization*

Screen Shot 2013-11-11 at 11.36.06 AM

Anyway I figured it was time to change it up. Yes, the profile and everything wasn’t all that old but I wanted to make the profile more….me. That way it would feel more personable. Also this way I can connect more easily to my other profile sites. Because if you notice when you are on my profile you see the names of different websites. These are links to my other main profiles, like I explained earlier.

Once I had figured out the links and everything for the top I started thinking what would look good on the side bar. Then it hit me. My “About Me” and “Contact” section. So I inserted them there. This way they are accessible easily and people are more likely to click on them. Below the “Pages” tab I connected my Tumblr and Twitter feeds as well. This is a nice touch because I do use Twitter and Tumblr. Twitter way more and you will see that if you go to my Twitter page: @jophis23 I’ve surpassed the 2,000 (2,027) Tweet mark. (My goal between now and the end of 2013 is to hit 2,500, and between now and the end of the school year 3,000.) Anyway, I thought the layout this way was much better because it allowed people to view me better. Then at the bottom of the page you can see which blogs I follow, an archive log and a list of how many posts are in each category.

So that’s WordPress. Tumblr took a little bit longer. Click on the link at the top to go to my page. I had a Tumblr account awhile ago but then deleted it because I stopped using it. Then I realized that a lot of my friends had started using Tumblr again so I decided to check it out one more time. After setting it up I didn’t really do anything about it. Then I decided to post one day and I noticed that post garnered a lot of interest and kept updating with small quotes I liked. So after a few days of that I spent most of yesterday really looking into updating and making my blog look cool. I think I have succeeded in that. Pic attached below.Screen Shot 2013-11-11 at 11.31.12 AM

This what my screen looks like. If you look at the right side of my screen you can see my pages. My “Ask Me” and “Submit” sections. Below that you see all my connections to different profiles like on my WordPress account. Below that you see the people I’m following. You then scroll down a bit and you’ll get my Flickr, Twitter feed and my likes on Tumblr. It’s plain and simple but it’s easy on the eyes and catching as well.

I somehow today managed to figure out how to connect both Tumblr and WordPress together. So for all you Tumblr users. Please bear in mind that when you read these posts that might end up on my Tumblr page they are written from my WordPress account.

Hope you enjoy the new looks on the accounts. I look forward to hearing from all of you soon. Please feel free to make suggestions on how I can improve either of them. As well as suggestions on people who you think I should follow. Please don’t hesitate guys. I’m not a dangerous guy, I won’t bite….Hard. JK! Have a good one guys.

 

Jophis23

“Love is a mystery in the eyes of everyone. Never truly discovered, only found by 2 people.”

Comments
  1. Nichoftime says:

    Awesome post! I’m still configuring with my profiles too… I think I might want to connect my Youtube channel to my blog somehow.

    • Jophis23 says:

      Damn! I knew I forgot one! Haha, Thanks for reminding me buddy. Loved your page as well. I figured connecting all my profiles would help me increase my followers.

Leave a Reply

